Andrew HamptonAndrew Hampton is Director of the Government Communications Security Bureau (GCSB). He has been in this role since April 2016.

Prior to joining GCSB, Mr Hampton was Government Chief Talent Officer in the State Services Commission (SSC). His responsibilities at the SSC included working with chief executives to identify and develop future leadership talent at all levels of the State sector, oversight of employment relations in the State sector, and being the Head of the HR Profession across government. 

Other previous roles held by Mr Hampton include Deputy Secretary and Director of the Secretary’s Office at the Ministry of Education, Deputy Chief Executive at the Crown Law office, and General Manager High Courts and then Deputy Secretary Courts for the Ministry of Justice.

Mr Hampton also spent nine years at the Office of Treaty Settlements working with successive governments managing Crown negotiations of Treaty settlements. He completed four years as Director of that Office in 2005. Mr Hampton began his career at Te Puni Kokiri working on constitutional and international issues.

Mr Hampton has a BA (Hons) and MA (Dist) from the University of Canterbury and has attended the Oxford Strategic Leadership Programme.

Previous Directors:

  • Lisa Fong (acting February 2016-April 2016)
  • Una Jagose (acting February 2015-February 2016)
  • Ian Fletcher (January 2012-February 2015)
  • Simon Murdoch (acting July–December 2011)
  • Lieutenant General Sir Jerry Mateparae (February–June 2011)
  • Simon Murdoch (acting November 2010–February 2011)
  • Air Marshal Sir Bruce Ferguson (2006–2010)
  • Dr Warren Tucker (1999–2006)
  • Ray Parker (1988–1999)
  • Colin Hanson (1977–1988)